TRIBUNAL DE JUSTICIA DE LAS COMUNIDADES EUROPEAS SOUDNÍ DVŮR EVROPSKÝCH SPOLEČENSTVÍ DE EUROPÆISKE FÆLLESSKABERS DOMSTOL GERICHTSHOF DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN EUROOPA ÜHENDUSTE KOHUS ΔΙΚΑΣΤΗΡΙΟ ΤΩΝ ΕΥΡΩΠΑΪΚΩΝ ΚΟΙΝΟΤΗΤΩΝ COURT OF JUSTICE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES COUR DE JUSTICE DES COMMUNAUTÉS EUROPÉENNES CÚIRT BHREITHIÚNAIS NA gCÓMHPHOBAL EORPACH CORTE DI GIUSTIZIA DELLE COMUNITÀ EUROPEE EIROPAS KOPIENU TIESA



EUROPOS BENDRIJŲ TEISINGUMO TEISMAS EURÓPAI KÖZÖSSÉGEK BÍRÓSÁGA

IL-QORTI TAL-ĞUSTIZZJA TAL-KOMUNITAJIET EWROPEJ
HOF VAN JUSTITIE VAN DE EUROPESE GEMEENSCHAPPEI
TRYBUNAŁ SPRAWIEDLIWOŚCI WSPÓLNOT EUROPEJSK
TRIBUNAL DE JUSTIÇA DAS COMUNIDADES EUROPEJAS
SÚDNY DVOR EURÓPSKYCH SPOLOČENSTIEV
SODIŠČE EVROPSKIH SKUPNOSTI
EUROOPAN YHTEISÖJEN TUOMIOISTUIN
EUROPEJSKA GEMENSKAPERNAS DOMSTOL

Press and Information Division

PRESS RELEASE No 38/04

12 May 2004

NINE NEW MEMBERS ON THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

Formal sitting of 12 May 2004

The conference of Representatives of the Governments of the Member States adopted on 1 May 2004 a decision nominating judges from the new Member States of the European Union to the Court of First Instance as from 1 May 2004.

The Representatives of the Governments of the Member States named as new judges of the Court of First Instance:

- Ms Küllike JÜRIMÄE, of Estonian nationality,
- Mr Savvas S. PAPASAVVAS, of Cypriot nationality,
- Mr Ottó CZÚCZ, of Hungarian nationality,
- Ms Irena WISZNIEWSKA-BIAŁECKA, of Polish nationality,
- Mr Daniel ŠVÁBY, of Slovak nationality,

for the period from 1 May 2004 to 31 August 2004;

- Mse Irena PELIKÁNOVÁ, of Czech nationality,
- Ms Ingrida LABUCKA, of Latvian nationality,
- Mr Vilenas VADAPALAS, of Lithuanian nationality,
- Ms Ena CREMONA, of Maltese nationality,

for the period from 1 May 2004 to 31 August 2007.¹

_

¹ The judge of Slovenian nationality has not yet been named.

A formal sitting is being held today, 12 May 2004, at 16.30 on the occasion of the swearing in of the nine new members of the Court of First Instance in the Grande Salle d'audience of the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

Curricula vitae of the new Judges of the Court of First Instance

Ena Cremona

Born 1936; Bachelors Degree (BA) in languages, Royal University of Malta (1955); Doctor of Laws (LLD) of the Royal University of Malta (1958); practising at the Malta Bar since 1959; Legal Adviser to the National Council of Women (1964-1979); Member of the Public Service Commission (1987-1989); Board Member at Lombard Bank (Malta) Ltd, representing Government shareholding (1987-1993); Member of the Electoral Commission since 1993; examiner for doctoral theses at the Royal University of Malta; Member of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI) (2003-2004); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Ottó Czúcz

Born 1946; Doctor of Laws of the University of Szeged (1971); administrator at the Ministry of Labour (1971-1974); lecturer (1974-1989), Dean of the Faculty of Law (1989-1990), Vice-Rector (1992-1997) of the University of Szeged; Lawyer; Member of the Presidium of the National Retirement Insurance scheme; Vice-President of the European Institute for Social Security (1998-2002); Member of the scientific council of the International Association for Social Security (1998-2004); Judge at the Constitutional Court (1998-2004); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Irena Wiszniewska-Białecka

Born 1947; Magister Juris, University of Warsaw (1965-1969); researcher at the Institute of Legal Sciences, assistant, associate professor, professor at the Academy of Sciences (1969-2004); researcher at the Max-Planck-Institute for Foreign and International Patent, Copyright and Competition Law, Munich (1985-1986); Lawyer (1992-2000); Judge at the Supreme Administrative Court (2001-2004); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Irena Pelikánová

Born 1949; Doctor of Laws, assistant in economic law (before 1989); Dr Sc, Professor of business law (since 1993) at the Faculty of Law, Charles University, Prague; Member of the Executive of the Securities Commission (1999-2002); Lawyer; Member of the Legislative Council of the Government of the Czech Republic (1998-2004); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Daniel Šváby

Born 1951; Doctor of Laws (University of Bratislava); Judge at the Court of First Instance of Bratislava; Judge, Appeal Court, responsible for civil law cases, and Vice-President, Appeal Court, Bratislava; member of the civil and family law section at the Ministry of Justice Law Institute; acting Judge responsible for commercial law cases at the Supreme Court; Member of the European Commission on Human Rights (Strasbourg); Judge at the Constitutional Court (2002-2004); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Vilenas Vadapalas

Born 1954; Doctor of Laws of the University of Moscow; Doctor habil. in law, University of Warsaw; Professor at the University of Vilnius: international law (since 1981), human rights law (since 1991) and Community law (since 2000); Director-General of the Government's European Law Department; Professor of European law at the University of Vilnius, holder of the Jean Monnet Chair; President of the Lithuanian European Union Studies Association; President of the Parliamentary working group on constitutional reform relating to Lithuanian accession; Member of the International Commission of Jurists (April 2003); former expert to the Council of Europe on questions relating to the compatibility of national legislation with the European Human Rights Convention; Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Küllike Jürimäe

Born 1962; diploma in Law, University of Tartu (1981-1986); Assistant to the Public Prosecutor, Tallinn (1986-1991); diploma, Estonian School of Diplomacy (1991-1992); Legal Adviser (1991-1993) and General Counsel at the Chamber of Commerce and Industry (1992-1993); Judge, Tallinn Court of Appeal (1993-2004); European Masters in human rights and democratisation, Universities of Padua and Nottingham (2002-2003); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Ingrida Labucka

Born 1963; Diploma in law, University of Latvia (1986); investigator for the Interior Ministry for the Kirov Region and the City of Riga (1986-1989); Judge, Riga City Court (1990-1994); Lawyer (1994-1998 and July 1999-May 2000); Minister of Justice (November 1998-July 1999 and May 2000-October 2002); Member of the International Court of Arbitration in the Hague (2001-2004); Member of Parliament (2002-2004); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Savvas S. Papasavvas

Born 1969; studies at the University of Athens (Ptychion, 1991); DEA in public law, University of Paris II (1992) and PhD in law, University of Aix-Marseille III (1995); admitted to the Cyprus bar, Member of the Nicosia Bar since 1993; Lecturer, University of Cyprus (1997-2002), Lecturer in Constitutional Law since September 2002; Researcher, European Public Law Centre (2001-2002); Judge at the Court of First Instance since 12 May 2004.

Unofficial document, for media use only, which does not bind the Court of First Instance.

Available languages: All

For additional information please contact Christopher Fretwell Tel: (00352) 4303 3355 Fax: (00352) 4303 2731

Pictures of the formal sitting are available from EBS "Europe by Satellite", the TV service of the European Commission, DG Press and Communication, L - 2920 Luxembourg, Tel: (00352) 4301 35177, Fax: (00352) 4301 35249, or B-1049 Brussels, Tel: (0032) 2 2964106, Fax: (0032) 2 2965956