TRIBUNAL DE JUSTICIA DE LAS COMUNIDADES EUROPEAS SOUDNÍ DVŮR EVROPSKÝCH SPOLEČENSTVÍ DE EUROPÆISKE FÆLLESSKABERS DOMSTOL GERICHTSHOF DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN EUROOPA ÜHENDUSTE KOHUS ΔΙΚΑΣΤΗΡΙΟ ΤΩΝ ΕΥΡΩΠΑΪΚΩΝ ΚΟΙΝΟΤΗΤΏΝ COURT OF JUSTICE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES COUR DE JUSTICE DES COMMUNAUTÉS EUROPÉENNES CÚIRT BHREITHIÚNAIS NA gCÓMHPHOBAL EORPACH CORTE DI GIUSTIZIA DELLE COMUNITÀ EUROPEE EIROPAS KOPIENU TIESA



#### BENDRIJŲ TEISINGUMO TEISMAS J KÖZÖSSÉGEK BÍRÓSÁGA

EUROPEISKA GEMENSKAPERNAS DOMSTOL

IL-QORTI TAL-ĠUSTIZZJA TAL-KOMUNITAJIET EWROPEJ
HOF VAN JUSTITIE VAN DE EUROPESE GEMEENSCHAPPEN
TRYBUNAŁ SPRAWIEDLIWOŚCI WSPÓLNOT EUROPEJSKICH
TRIBUNAL DE JUSTIÇA DAS COMUNIDADES EUROPEIAS
SÚDNY DVOR EURÓPSKYCH SPOLOČENSTIEV
SODIŠČE EVROPSKIH SKUPNOSTI
EUROOPAN YHTEISÖJEN TUOMIOISTUIN

Press and Information

#### **INFORMATION FOR THE PRESS No 77/06**

26 September 2006

# PARTIAL RENEWAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COURT OF JUSTICE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES AND ENTRY INTO OFFICE OF NEW MEMBERS OF THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

Formal Sitting on 6 October 2006 at 17:00 at the Court of Justice

The mandates of thirteen judges and four Advocates General of the Court of Justice of the European Communities will expire on 6 October 2006.

By decisions of 6 April 2006 and 20 September 2006, the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States renewed, for the period from 7 October 2006 to 6 October 2012, the mandates of the Judges Mr Peter Jann, Mr Christiaan Timmermans, Sir Konrad Schiemann, Mr Jiří Malenovský, Mr Antonio Tizzano, Mr José Narciso da Cunha Rodrigues, Mr Pranas Kūris, Mr George Arestis, Mr Anthony Borg Barthet and Mr Egils Levits as well as that of the Advocate General Mr Paolo Mengozzi.

By the same decisions, the following were appointed as Judges: Ms Pernilla Lindh, replacing Mr Stig von Bahr, Mr Jean-Claude Bonichot, replacing Mr Jean-Pierre Puissochet, and Mr Thomas von Danwitz, replacing Ms Ninon Colneric, and, as Advocate General, Mr Yves Bot, replacing Mr Philippe Léger. In addition, and applying the system of rotation of Advocates General by alphabetical order of the Member States, Mr Ján Mazàk was appointed in place of Mr Leendert A. Geelhoed and Ms Verica Trstenjak was appointed in place of Ms Christine Stix-Hackl.

On the occasion of the partial renewal of the Members of the Court of Justice and following the appointment as Members of the Court of Justice of two Judges of the Court of First Instance, Mr Nils Wahl and Mr Miro Prek were appointed as Judges at the Court of First Instance of the European Communities, replacing Ms Pernilla Lindh and Ms Verica Trstenjak, respectively.

On the occasion of the end of the terms of office and the departures of Members of the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance, and of the swearing-in and entry into office of their successors, a formal sitting will be held on:

## Friday 6 October 2006 at 17:00 in the main court room

(entrance on Boulevard Konrad Adenauer, opposite the European Investment Bank)

Accreditation may be obtained from the Press and Information Service of the Court of Justice by returning the attached form no later than 12:00 CET on 4 October 2006.

### The Presidency of the Court of Justice

After the formal sitting, the Judges of the Court of Justice will elect *in camera*, from among their number, their President for a term of three years.

Languages available: DE EN FR

This information for the press is also available on the Court's internet site http://curia.europa.eu/en/actu/communiques/index.htm

For further information please contact Christopher Fretwell Tel: (00352) 4303 3355 Fax: (00352) 4303 2731

#### PRACTICAL INFORMATION

A press room fitted with office equipment (telephones: analogue lines, ISDN lines and Wi-Fi) will be available to you.

#### Please note:

- the press is requested to use the Thomas More entrance, Boulevard Konrad Adenauer;
- the public is requested to remain silent and seated until the end of the hearing;
- the use of mobile telephones or other electronic sound devices is forbidden during the entire hearing;
- the use of flashes or other supplementary lighting systems is not authorised;
- photographers and cameramen may not move around the hearing room in order to take photographs;
- if a great number of photographers and cameramen are interested, a "pool" can be arranged by the Press and Information Service.

## **ACCREDITATION**

Accreditation to be sent by fax before 12:00 CET on 4 October 2006 to number: (00352) 4303 2500

re: Formal sitting of 6 October 2006

For further information, please contact the Secretariat of the Press and Information Service Tél: (00352) 4303 2035

Name:
Organisation:
Branch of the media:
Number of persons :
Contact numbers: Tel : Fax : e-mail :
Request for authorisation to photograph/film (please delete as appropriate): YES/NO

Your request has been accepted if you have not received a refusal from the Court of Justice two days before the hearing.