СЪД НА ЕВРОПЕЙСКИТЕ ОБЩНОСТИ

EIROPAS KOPIENU TIESA

TRIBUNAL DE JUSTICIA DE LAS COMUNIDADES EUROPEAS SOUDNÍ DVŮR EVROPSKÝCH SPOLEČENSTVÍ DE EUROPÆISKE FÆLLESSKABERS DOMSTOL GERICHTSHOF DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN EUROOPA ÜHENDUSTE KOHUS ΔΙΚΑΣΤΗΡΙΟ ΤΩΝ ΕΥΡΩΠΑΪΚΩΝ ΚΟΙΝΟΤΗΤΩΝ COURT OF JUSTICE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES COUR DE JUSTICE DES COMMUNAUTÉS EUROPÉENNES CÚIRT BHREITHIÚNAIS NA gCÓMHPHOBAL EORPACH CORTE DI GIUSTIZIA DELLE COMUNITÀ EUROPEE



LUXEMBOURG

EUROPOS BENDRIJŲ TEISINGUMO TEISMAS

IL-QORTI TAL-ĠUSTIZZJA TAL-KOMUNITAJIET EWROPEJ HOF VAN JUSTITIE VAN DE EUROPESE GEMEENSCHAPPEN TRYBUNAŁ SPRAWIEDLIWOŚCI WSPÓLNOT EUROPEJSKICH TRIBUNAL DE JUSTIÇA DAS COMUNIDADES EUROPEIAS CURTEA DE JUSTIȚIE A COMUNITĂȚILOR EUROPENE SÚDNY DVOR EURÓPSKYCH SPOLOČENSTIEV SODIŠČE EVROPSKIH SKUPNOSTI

EUROOPAN YHTEISÖJEN TUOMIOISTUIN EUROPEISKA GEMENSKAPERNAS DOMSTOL

Press and Information

PRESS RELEASE No 64/07

17 September 2007

* * *

PARTIAL REPLACEMENT OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

Formal sitting of 17 September 2007

By decision of 25 April 2007, the representatives of the Governments of the Member States renewed, for the period from 1 September 2007 to 31 August 2013, the terms of office as Judges at the Court of First Instance of Mr John D. Cooke, Mr Nicholas James Forwood, Ms Ena Cremona, Ms Irena Pelikánová, Mr Vilenas Vadapalas, Ms Ingrida Labucka, Mr Enzo Moavero Milanesi, Nr Nils Wahl, Mr Miro Prek and Mr Teodor Tchipev.

By decisions of 25 April 2007 and 23 May 2007, Mr Alfred Dittrich, Mr Santiago Soldevila Fragoso and Mr Laurent Truchot were appointed as Judges for the period from 1 September 2007 to 31 August 2013, respectively replacing Mr Jörg Pirrung, Mr Rafael García-Valdecasas y Fernández and Mr Hubert Legal, while Mr Sten Frimodt Nielsen was appointed as a Judge for the period from 17 September 2007 to 31 August 2010, replacing Mr Bo Vesterdorf.

A formal sitting of the Court of Justice has been held today on the occasion of the departure from office of Mr Bo Vesterdorf, Mr Jörg Pirrung, Mr Hubert Legal and Mr Rafael García-Valdecasas y Fernández and of the taking of the oath and entry into office of the new members of the institution.

Alfred Dittrich

Born 1950; studied law at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg (1970-75); Articled law clerk in the Nuremberg Higher Regional Court district (1975-78); Adviser at the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs (1978-82); Counsellor at the Permanent Representation of the Federal Republic of Germany to the European Communities (1982); Adviser at the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs, responsible for Community law and competition issues (1983-92); Head of the EU Law Section at the Federal Ministry of Justice (1992-2007); Head of the German delegation on the Council Working Party on the Court of Justice; Agent of the Federal Government in a large number of cases before the Court of Justice of the European Communities.

Santiago Soldevila Fragoso

Born 1960; graduated in law from the Autonomous University of Barcelona (1983); Judge in Catalonia, the Canary Islands and Madrid (1985-92); Judge in the Chamber for Contentious Administrative Proceedings of the High Court of Justice of the Canary Islands at Santa Cruz de Tenerife (1992 and 1993); Legal adviser at the Constitutional Court (1993-98); Judge in the Sixth Section of the Chamber for Contentious Administrative Proceedings of the National High Court (Madrid, 1998 to August 2007).

Laurent Truchot

Born 1962; Graduate of the Institut d'études politiques, Paris (1984); former student of the École nationale de la magistrature (National School for the Judiciary) (1986-88); Judge at the Regional Court, Marseilles (January 1988 to January 1990); Law Officer in the Directorate for Civil Affairs and the Legal Professions at the Ministry of Justice (January 1990 to June 1992); Deputy Section Head, then Section Head, in the Directorate-General for Competition, Consumption and the Combating of Fraud in the Ministry for Economic Affairs, Finance and Industry (June 1992 to September 1994); Technical Adviser to the Minister for Justice (September 1994 to May 1995); Judge at the Regional Court, Nîmes (May 1995 to May 1996); Legal Secretary at the Court of Justice in the Chambers of Advocate General Léger (May 1996 to December 2001); Auxiliary Judge at the Court of Cassation (December 2001 to August 2007).

Sten Frimodt Nielsen

Born 1963; graduated in law from Copenhagen University (1988); civil servant in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1988-91); tutor in international and European law at Copenhagen University (1988-91); Embassy Secretary at the Permanent Mission of Denmark to the United Nations in New York (1991-94); civil servant in the Legal Service of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1994-95); external lecturer at Copenhagen University (1995); Adviser, then Senior Adviser, in the Prime Minister's Office (1995-98); Minister Counsellor at the Permanent Representation of Denmark to the European Union (1998-2001); Special Adviser for legal issues in the Prime Minister's Office (2001-02); Head of Department and Legal Counsel in the Prime Minister's Office (August 2004); Assistant Secretary of State and Legal Counsel in the Prime Minister's Office (August 2004 to August 2007).

Unofficial document for media use, not binding on the Court of Justice.

Languages available: all

For further information, please contact Christopher Fretwell Tel: (00352) 4303 3355 Fax: (00352) 4303 2731

Pictures of the formal sitting are available on EbS "Europe by Satellite", a service provided by the European Commission, Directorate-General Press and Communications,

L-2920 Luxembourg, Tel: (00352) 4301 35177 Fax: (00352) 4301 35249 or B-1049 Bruxelles, Tel: (0032) 2 2964106 Fax: (0032) 2 2965956