

Luxembourg, 8 October 2015

Mr Koen Lenaerts is elected President of the Court of Justice of the European Union

Following the partial replacement of the Members of the Court of Justice,¹ Mr Koen Lenaerts has today been elected by his peers to serve as President of the Court of Justice of the European Union for the period from 8 October 2015 to 6 October 2018. He succeeds Mr Vassilios Skouris following the end of the latter's term of office.

Curriculum vitae of Mr Koen Lenaerts

Born 1954; lic. iuris, Ph.D. in Law (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven); Master of Laws, Master in Public Administration (Harvard University); Lecturer (1979-83), subsequently Professor of European Law, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (since 1983); Legal Secretary at the Court of Justice (1984-85); Professor at the College of Europe, Bruges (1984-89); member of the Brussels Bar (1986-89); Visiting Professor at the Harvard Law School (1989); Judge at the Court of First Instance of the European Communities from 25 September 1989 to 6 October 2003; Judge at the Court of Justice from 9 October 2012 to 7 October 2015; President of the Court of Justice of the European Union since 8 October 2015.

Unofficial document for media use, not binding on the Court of Justice. Press contact: Christopher Fretwell ☎ (+352) 4303 3355

¹ See Press Release No <u>113/15</u> of 5 October 2015.