Press and Information Division


Formal sitting of 7 January 2004

* * *


By decision of the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States, Sir Konrad Hermann Theodor Schiemann has been appointed Judge of the Court of Justice of the European Communities until 6 October 2006.

He replaces David Alexander Ogilvy Edward, who has held office as Judge of the Court of Justice of the European Communities since 10 March 1992, having been a Judge of the Court of First Instance from 1989 to 1992.

A formal hearing took place at the Court on 7 January 2004 to mark Judge Edward's departure and Sir Konrad Schiemann's taking up of his duties.

David Alexander Ogilvy Edward

born 1934; Advocate (Scotland); Queen's Counsel (Scotland); Clerk, and later Treasurer, of the Faculty of Advocates; President of the Consultative Committee of the Bars and Law Societies of the European Community; Salvesen Professor of European Institutions and Director of the Europa Institute, University of Edinburgh; Special Adviser to the House of Lords' Select Committee on the European Communities; Honorary Bencher at Gray's Inn, London; Judge of the Court of First Instance from 25 September 1989 to 9 March 1992; Judge of the Court of Justice since 10 March 1992.

Konrad Hermann Theodor Schiemann

born 1937; studied law at Cambridge University; Barrister (1964 - 1980); Queen's Counsel (1980 -1986); Judge of the High Court of England and Wales (1986 - 1995); Lord Justice of Appeal (1995 - 2003); senior member since 1985 and Treasurer since 2003 of the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple; in office as Judge of the Court of Justice from 8 January 2004.

Unofficial document, for media use only, which does not bind the Court of Justice.

Available languages: All

For additional information please contact Christopher Fretwell
Tel: (00352) 4303 3355 Fax: (00352) 4303 2731

Images of the formal sitting will be transmitted via
EBS “Europe by Satellite”, a service provided by the European Commission, Press and Communication Directorate-General, L - 2920 Luxembourg,
Tel: (00352) 4301 35177, Fax: (00352) 4301 35249,
or B-1049 Brussels, Tel: (0032) 2 29 64106, Fax: (0032) 2 29 65956