Directorates for Legal Translation

The legal translation service, shared between the two jurisdictions (Court of Justice and General Court), comprises two directorates, between which the language units are apportioned. The directors share responsibility for 23 language units (Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish). 

The Court’s translations are established in accordance with mandatory language arrangements and include all the combinations of the official languages of the European Union. The volume of pages to be translated currently exceeds 1 100 000 pages per year.

The texts to be translated are all highly technical legal texts. To accomplish that task, the service employs only jurists who have completed their education in law and who have a thorough knowledge of at least two languages other than their mother tongue.


For more information: