Press and Information Division

PRESS RELEASE No 88/03

10 October 2003

NEW COMPOSITION OF THE COURT OF JUSTICE

The partial renewal of the Members of the Court took place in accordance with the decision of 23 July 2003 of the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States.

The new Members of the Court took the oath at a formal sitting on 6 October 2003.1

On 7 October 2003, Mr Vassilios SKOURIS was elected President of the Court of Justice of the European Communities by the for the period from 7 October 2003 to 6 October 2006. He succeeds Mr Gil Carlos RODRÍGUEZ IGLESIAS, who had been a Judge at the Court since 31 January 1986 and President of the Court since 7 October 1994.

For the first time, pursuant to the amendments made to the Statute and the Rules of Procedure of the Court of Justice as a result of the adoption of the Treaty of Nice of 26 February 2001,³ the Judges have elected the Presidents of the chambers of five and three judges which make up the Court.

As regards the Chambers of five Judges, on 8 October 2003, Mr Peter JANN was elected President of the First Chamber and Mr Christiaan Willem Anton TIMMERMANS President of the Second Chamber.

On 10 October 2003, the Presidents of the chambers of three judges were also elected, for one year. Mr Allan ROSAS was elected President of the Third Chamber, Mr José Narciso da CUNHA RODRIGUES President of the Fourth Chamber and Mr Claus Christian GULMANN President of the Fifth Chamber.

On 7 October 2003, Mr Antonio TIZZANO was appointed First Advocate General by the Court for a period of one year.

¹ See Press release No 85/03.

² See Press release No 86/03.

The Treaty of Nice entered into force on 1 February 2003.

Unofficial document for media use; not binding on the Court of Justice.

This press release is available in all languages

For further information please contact Christopher Fretwell Tel: (00 352) 4303 3355; Fax: (00 352) 4303 2731.